Organs, an on-point brass section, percussions, various offbeat-rhythms and the ubiquitous guitar build the foundation for Evertons intruigingly welcoming voice.

Lee Everton is a wizard of relaxation: He makes „Don’t Make It Too Hard“ despite the roaring guitars still as chill as a walk on the beach. He is even able to extricate the blues of Tom Waits‘ „Anywhere I Lay My Head“ from the genre-inherent severity.


Nevertheless, a light melancholy lies in between all the lines, never being so strong though to set the pace. Jovially jumping rhythms, as well as a fair portion of common sense, keep the music from a self-pitying walk through a valley of tears. It’s the little things that count, which is wonderfully celebrated in the captivating „A Little Light„.

The unagitated „Cry For Me“ is purely made out of organic, hand-made Reggae, topped with a glamorous melody in the back. In contrast, the contemplative, Soul-laden „You Still Got To Hold On Me“ brings back the singer/songwriter to the table and is, with a gentle piano, just made for „these silent morning hours“.

Coming from the deep crates of Bob Dylan, Lee Evertons version of „If Not For You“ becomes, with the help of a fragile melody and an island feel, one of those songs that are stuck in your head for days.

„I Want To Hold On“ almost wants to carefully ask for a Waltz and partially reminds of a shrunk-down version of Procul Harums „A Whiter Shade Of Pale“ – only a guitar and a voice carry the melody. „I love to feel the wind in my face and the taste of salt on my lips“ – again, the little miracles of everyday life warm the heart and put a little magic in the daily grind.

The final track called „Lullaby“ marks the emotional highlight, a tune rich of warmth, tenderness, and friendly memories. Those turn the pain caused by personal loss into slight nostalgia illustrated once more by organ and acoustic guitar. „I know I wasn’t an easy child.“ But honestly – who was?

Despite all the richness of detail, Lee Evertons songs remain simple – in the best way possible. Unpretentious, easy like a sunday morning. „What do you want to call it? Songwriter-Reggae? Or Soul-Reggae?“, the artist asks. „Who cares about a label?“, the mind wants to answer.

„I want to make positive, uplifting music“, says Lee Everton and reveals his humble plan.

The truth is: these are mostly the toughest ones! However the Swiss crooner’s music sounds anything but that. His melodies are relaxed and airy, effortless, as chill as a summer’s day breeze.

Still, it’s tough out there for the singer/songwriter with a blatant weakness for Caribbean grooves. The burden of steady comparisons heavily weighs on his chest: His insightful lyrics and distinct Reggae-influenced arrangements make the critics say Bob faster than a speeding bullet (Marley AND Dylan, of course). His characteristic, but discreet singing reminds them of Van Morrison.

Lee Everton, being the way he is, has an answer that is calm as it is simple: „I believe, Morrison is one of the best white singers. I listened to his records quite often.“

Certainly, he didn’t wake up one day with his distinctive style. Born and raised in Zurich, Switzerland, Everton turned his back on his homeland when he was just 18 years old. It’s the Jamaican School of Music in Kingston where he finally discovered his full love for the sound of the Caribbean.

He brought this spirit back to Switzerland and quickly became a pioneer in the about-to-be-born Swiss Rap- and Reggae-scene as an MC and guitarist for the group Sendak. But, very soon Everton moved on to new pastures: „I started to experiment with instruments and rhythm-elements and after some time I discovered a formula that worked out for me.“

Lee Evertons sound is a reflection of his career and his cosmopolitanism. Displayed on his 2007/2008 debut „Inner Exile“ that established him as an extraordinary artist. „Sing A Song For Me“ walks along these lines. Still emotions, melody, content and the harmony of the three reign supreme.


01. Don’t make it too hard
02. A little light
03. If not for you
04. I want to hold on
05. Cry for me
06. I got to keep on moving
07. Anywhere I lay my head
08. You’ve still got a hold on me
09. I need you tonight
10. Count on me
11. Lullaby